1952: The 45th Convention – New Awards

Members of Beta Lambda Chapter (San Diego State) sailing at the 1952 Convention.

The 45th Convention exchanged Colorado’s scenic mountains for the warm ocean breezes of San Diego and delegates convened at the Hotel del Coronado on June 23, 1952.

At the Honors luncheon, Scholarship Chairman Mrs. George Stoddard presented the Chancellor E. O. Haven Award citation for the first time. Created in 1952, the award recognized high scholarship by a chapter over a two-year period. Another award, the Service Roll Award, was established as the result of a recommendation of the 1950 Honor Roll committee. Its requirements included “long, devoted and constructive service to chapter, province and international Sorority.”

The Convention also authorized the establishment of a Philanthropy Board to coordinate all the Sorority’s philanthropic efforts, and two new publications were debuted. Frances Atwater Lindloff (Oklahoma, 1928) compiled a new songbook that included 40 new songs in addition to the long-standing favorites, and The Crescent News, an annual publication for disseminating membership-wide rushing information, had been introduced to the chapters just a few months before.