Delta Phi Chapter (CALIfornia State-Bakersfield)

Delta Phi Chapter was installed at California State University-Bakersfield in Bakersfield, California, on April 23, 1983.

Delta Phi Chapter (California State-Bakersfield) became the first Sorority at California State University-Bakersfield, founded in 1970. Director of Expansion Karen Wander Line (University of Washington) was responsible for the colonization in October, 1982. Expansion Supervisor Beth Happe (Northern Iowa) remained to direct the new member period, and Alumnae Filed Representative Diane Lang Bryan (California-Los Angeles) was responsible for the support given by Bakersfield Alumnae Chapter.

Members of Delta Lambda (California-Riverside) and Alpha Iota (California-Los Angeles) Chapters conducted the Initiation service at the Dore Theater Arena Room under the direction of International Ritual Chairman* Cynthia Partain Farrell (Bowling Green) for 22 charter members of Delta Phi Chapter. At the installation banquet held at Rodeway Inn, the chapter president’s badge, a historic badge with all three Greek letters in turquoise, was accepted by Delta Phi Chapter President Anna Lencioni Spencer (California State-Bakersfield). Grand President** Ann Mullen Bronsing (Indiana State) presented the chapter’s charter.

*International ritual chairman is now known as director of ritual.

**Grand President is now known as International President.

Delta Phi Chapter charter members in 1983.